#Reminiscences: nieces and nephews

Two nephews and a niece each have birthdays this month.

I recall visiting Karen in the hospital after Blayne was born. He is the first child born to either of my sisters, and that made his birth truly special.

Anna is the niece born in November.  Her birth, right at Thanksgiving, was welcomed by my parents on a brief furlough from Argentina.  (That trip would be the last time any of us saw Mom, since she died not long after, in Argentina.) I visited Beth in the hospital the day after Thanksgiving, if I recall correctly.

And then Joseph came along fourteen years ago.  I was in Muncie, Indiana at the time, as had to wait a few weeks to great the last of the nephews.

1995. JC with Karen’s kids, Blayne and Kristen, at the Ringling Bros. circus at Kemper Arena.
With my nephews Luke and Joseph last summer (2009), waiting for the Amtrak home.
2000. A very young Anna at my doctoral hooding ceremony.

Published by Jeffrey Carter

University professor, voice teacher, choral director, singer, professional theatre music director, brother, uncle and great-uncle, Anglican, spirits aficionado, chef of moderate talent, NPR fanatic, proponent of the music of Herbert Howells and Elgar and Vaughan Williams, pianist, composer, theatre geek, dog love & cat hater, author & blogger, world traveler, Anglophile.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.