Vacation 11

Today has been a most wonderful day.

I rose at 7 and made biscuits for breakfast while Misha slept. By 9.30 I arrived at St. Mark’s Lutheran Church in Clayton to practice for the service, and at 10.10 I commenced the organ prelude before playing organ for the service there.

Service over, I dashed home to collect Misha, and we set off for Rolla to see Audrey McHale in The Fantasticks at the Ozark Actors Theatre.  Audrey was for both of us the highlight of the show; her singing in particular was lovely, although the acting was pretty damn good from my perspective.

On the way home we stopped at St. James Winery where I picked up a half-case of dry Seyval to add to the five bottles I bought last weekend in Illinois.

Supper was Portobello mushroom ravioli with a bit of olive oil and fresh Parmesan on top, plus salad for me and some lentils for Misha (his choice, not mine).

And then I cleaned out my car.  More on that tomorrow.

We caught Inception tonight.  I wasn’t going to be a poot about it, but I really didn’t care whether or not I saw this movie.  As it turns out, I enjoyed it immensely.  But the movie was about 20 minutes too long.

After dessert in the Central West End, we’ve just made it home.

This has been a truly delightful and pleasant day, as our 10-month anniversary should be!  Our conversations were worthwhile and deep; the ride to Rolla and back was especially quick and easy as we chattered all the way.

A stray cat has made itself at home with us and the neighbors to the north.  I’m not pleased.  Alas, though – Misha is.

Tomorrow begins the first day of true unfettered vacation!

Published by Jeffrey Carter

University professor, voice teacher, choral director, singer, professional theatre music director, brother, uncle and great-uncle, Anglican, spirits aficionado, chef of moderate talent, NPR fanatic, proponent of the music of Herbert Howells and Elgar and Vaughan Williams, pianist, composer, theatre geek, dog love & cat hater, author & blogger, world traveler, Anglophile.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.