Twenty years

Twenty years ago this afternoon, I took my mother to the airport in Kansas City.  She was returning to Buenos Aires to continue her term as a missionary.

At my loft apartment in the City Market area of Kansas City, I had listened to the morning broadcast from King’s College, Cambridge.  And then I headed to Lee’s Summit to collect my mother.  She had packed with more ease than usual, and was ready to go (something not always the case when she was returning to BA).  We stopped by Hy-Vee for some medicine, and then drove north to KCI.

I never saw her again.

My parents at Christmas 1992 in Buenos Aires.

My parents at Christmas 1992 in Buenos Aires.

She died of septicemia on March 23, 1998.

Rest in peace, Mom.

Leave a Reply

