Northeast Missouri

Driving south on US Highway 61 on Sunday, in northeast Missouri, I made several brief stops.

Having lived in Hannibal, and having very fond memories of autumn days crunching through leaves on campus, I drove through Hannibal-LaGrange University. And then I drove 5006 College Ave, the second house my parents ever owned. (The others were in Columbia, and two houses in Lee’s Summit.)

Hannibal.  The second house my parents ever owned.

Hannibal. The second house my parents ever owned.

My father's campus ministry office was in this building at Hannibal-LaGrange.

My father’s campus ministry office was in this building at Hannibal-LaGrange.

Prior to stopping in Hannibal, I visited Canton to see Culver-Stockton College, and pulled off the highway in LaGrange just because I’ve never been to that little town.

Mississippi River at LaGrange, Missouri.

Mississippi River at LaGrange, Missouri.

And way up north of Canton, I saw a little church I just had to visit — Bluff Springs Methodist Church, officially in Kahoka, Missouri, but on Hwy. 61, with a cute cemetery up on the bluff above the church.

us61-3

us61-2

us61-1

 

Leave a Reply

