Iowa City

Friday evening.

Another Hampton Inn.

This time in Iowa City.

screen-shot-2016-10-28-at-8-12-41-pm

The National Association of Teachers of Singers – Central Division holds our student conference and auditions (singing competition) this weekend at the University of Iowa, in their gorgeous new music building.

Less than 24 hours after returning to Saint Louis from New Mexico, I was on the road for the long drive north, via US Highway 61 and US 218.  I drove through Hannibal, just blocks from the house where I spent part of my childhood. When I return on Sunday, I’ll swing through Canton to see Culver-Stockton and the Mississippi River.

My one and only visit to Iowa City was in 1995 or so, when I helped a friend move here to start his doctorate.  I recall some good ethnic restaurants, but that’s about it.

The Cubs are on the telly.  I have SO much work with me after being gone much of this week too, and I’m glad to have a hotel room with a king bed and a sofa where I can stretch out to do some school work.

But my presentation for Sunday is ready to go!

My primary role on Saturday is Registrar for this competition, where 430+ students will be singing on Saturday.  I’m glad to have a super staff to help out at the morning rush.

And I enjoy service to the profession, and I enjoy being in charge, so this will be fun!

 

Leave a Reply

