Roots

Whilst visiting my hometown this weekend, I made the short trip south to Adrian, where my mother was born and where most of my maternal ancestors and forebears are buried.

I walk the green lawn of Crescent Hill Cemetery and I find four generations of relatives.

My grandmother for years sold the seeds that the local farmers planted to grow their own gardens.  This soil is part of my DNA.  These are my roots.

Our most recent family addition to this ground is my great-aunt Esther Summers.  I eulogized her in 2014.

roots-2

 

Nearby, my sainted grandmother and grandfather:

roots-3

And a few yards away, this tribute to a man who clearly was a farmer:

roots-4

One the way back into Lee’s Summit, I stopped by to see my mother:

roots-6

Leave a Reply

