Texas Hash

Now that I’m home for a few days, I need to cook.

Wednesday dinner was slow-cooker Texas hash. I made a half-recipe for myself.

Notes:

  • four hours on high was plenty long for the cooking time.  Perhaps a full batch would need a full four hours.
  • I ended up adding an entire half-cup of water, rather than the 1/4 cup the half-recipe would require.
  • the salt looks like a lot.  But the lack of other spices cries out for salt.
  • next time I’ll use a full 1.5 teaspoons of chili powder for the half-recipe.
  • I may also consider a bit of garlic powder next time.
  • This dish would work just as well with fire-roasted diced tomatoes.

Topped with some sour cream and some grated Cheddar cheese, this was a hearty and filling evening meal.  A bowl of fresh strawberries finished off the feast.

 

Leave a Reply

