Lemon cucumber

Jet lag had me awake at 5 a.m. today.  By 7 I had weeded and dead-headed in the garden, walked Auggie, and watched some of the shows I missed whilst I was away.

After taking Auggie to Mr. Warren for a spa day, I went to Soulard Market.  One of my favorite vendors had a new (new to me!) vegetable, a lemon cucumber!

I decided to bring one home and have a go.  The veggie is the size of a lemon, with yellow-ish flesh.  Upon cutting the cucumber in half, I had the strong scent of cucumber, with rather more seeds perhaps.

I at half of the lemon cucumber at luncheon today, with some heirloom tomatoes, a bit of mango and oil dressing, and a nice slice of bacon & cheese quiche too!

Leave a Reply

