And home

Well, I’ve seen ugliness.  And it’s the Red Roof Inn in downtown Chicago.

I stayed there last evening, after my United Airlines flights were canceled and United was no help in getting me a hotel room even though they owed me one, and this morning I fled back to O’Hare.

Never again will I stay in a Red Roof Inn.  Scratchy bed linens.  Dirt on the floor.  A toilet with no lid over the tank.  Cracking and flaking grout in the bathroom.  Wi-Fi not working.

NEVER AGAIN.

United redeemed themselves slightly this morning.  I was confirmed on a late afternoon departure today, but walked up to the gate for the 7.30 a.m. flight and got the last seat, thanks to a First Class seat boarding card for the later flight.

And my luggage was waiting for me in Saint Louis when I arrived.

I’ll tell the whole saga later, perhaps.

Thank god for small gifts.

Auggie, of course, won’t let me out of his sight.  And he’s being incredibly loving. 

Leave a Reply

