The weekend

Saturday dawned hot and sunny.  Auggie let me lie in for a while.

Saturday-June - 3

My dear friend Ken Rodgers is here this weekend.  He arrived Friday in time to see Atomic at New Line Theatre. I made us some Saturday breakfast of bacon and eggs and fresh berries.

And then my upstairs bathroom sink decided to spring a leak.  Will the Plumber from across the street came and took a look, and I’m scheduled for plumbing work (meaning tearing out a wall…) on Monday.

To my query about why I have an old house, said Will the Plumber: “They have charm. And they have upkeep.  One goes with the other.”

The lawn and garden is needing lots of water in this heat and rain-less weather; I moved the sprinkler four times over the long hours of daylight on Saturday.

Auggie was playful on Saturday morning, and willingly posed for some photos.

Auggie-Saturday - 1

Ken and I intended to go the Missouri History Museum, but Forest Park was wall-to-wall on a bright and none-too-humid Saturday.  So we went to Atomic Cowboy for some Tex-Mex instead.

I watched UEFA Euro 2016, and Ken went to Opera Theatre of Saint Louis to see Shalimar the Clown.  Dinner was barbecued shrimp, with some green beans and potatoes.

And then I closed Atomic.  The wonderful run of ten performances is over.  My next project awaits.

I received this weekend a most welcome card from a friend from college days. He had walked away after I came out to him in the late 1980s, but has written to apologize and reconcile. I was best man in his wedding. I could not be more pleased!

Sunday will include Auggie’s visit to the groomer, a morning walk in the Missouri Botanical Garden, and the brunch at a café in the garden.  Ken will depart for home, and I will go see Company at Insight Theatre (with students Cher Alvarez and Matt Pentecost in the cast).

I tried a new shrimp dish this week, one that was quite tasty! — http://nyti.ms/1UdFaqA

And continuing the food theme:

Dolph's meal with me on Wednesday, with his homemade goulash and spätzle, cucumber salad, and bread.

Dolph’s meal with me on Wednesday, with his homemade goulash and spätzle, cucumber salad, and bread.

Greek salad on Thursday (minus the olive oil that dressed the salad just before dining).

Greek salad on Thursday (minus the olive oil that dressed the salad just before dining).

 Saturday dinner of garlic butter shrimp and green beans with potatoes.

Saturday dinner of garlic butter shrimp and green beans with potatoes.

 

Leave a Reply

