Tuesday NYC report

Tuesday was a quite satisfying day in New York City.

I had a bit of a lie-in, dealing with a great deal of school email in the morning before stepping next door to a) the Carl Jung Society bookstore (a dangerous place for me) and b) a high-end men’s shoe store.

Let’s just say that I shipped home, from FedEx Kinko’s on 40th Street, a large package valued at $600.

I met Luke Meyer, Ball State University Signers alumnus, for a mid-day glass of tea, then headed north on the 1 Line to Lincoln Center.  Kurt Hellerich, Webster alumnus, joined me for a guided tour of three venues at Lincoln Center (good for the average tourist, but nothing new for this performing arts guy).  At least I got to walk in the same stage door that has seen Leontyne Price, Luciano Pavarotti, and untold numbers of other opera luminaries.

We did get to step into Geffen Hall to see and hear a few minutes of the rehearsal from the New York Philharmonic.  Alan Gilbert was conducting.  William Bolcom was in the orchestra seats.  And they were working on his new trombone concerto to be premiered on Friday evening.  This was just a bit of a very happy thrill.

We talked across the street for a mid-afternoon luncheon at a Tex-Mex place with scrumptious guacamole made tableside.  Kurt and I had a delightful catch-up, and then I decided to sit and read for a while, so I did, in a small park across from Lincoln Center.

Tuesday evening found me at Shuffle Along on Broadway at the Music Box (where I saw Pippin, Nice Work, One Man Two Guv’nors, and at least one other show).  Audra McDonald was glorious, and I delighted to hear Brian Stokes Mitchell sing, even though he had no big solo.  The show was a mixed bag, though, and the last ten minutes a mess.

And, as I did the last two days as well, I walked back to my hotel at 39th and Madison, and hit 10,000 steps for the day as I did!

Leave a Reply

