Chicago

I am this morning in one of my favorite cities in the world — Chicago.

This quick 48-hour R&R visit includes time with friends, a few hours of museums, and last evening, a performance by the Chicago Symphony Orchestra.

Donald Runnicles, who I saw lead the Dallas Symphony in January, led drop-dead interpretations of Britten’s short symphonic requiem, Strauss’ Death and Transfiguration, and Elgar’s Enigma Variations.

My partner in crime last evening was Adam Hendrickson, who I’d not seen in 2.5 years, given his schedule and mine on these short Chicago trips.  Adam is now a father, but sadly for me, his wife and daughter were visiting family in Oregon, so I shall have to wait to meet the youngster.

Leave a Reply

