My allergy journey

1992.

Me when the allergies started.

Several folks have asked, so I thought I’d pop open a quick tale of my allergy journey.

Adult onset, whilst I was in graduate school.  I kept getting sinus infections that then landed as bronchitis.  Voice teacher: “go see an allergist.”

I found a doctor in Independence, Missouri.  He had a fixation with Benjamin Franklin, and had written a book about Franklin’s pithy quotes and bon mots.  And he worked with me on my triggers and how to desensitize them.

Allergy shots for ten years.  Daily OTC antihistamine pill, switching yearly between generic Claritin and generic Zyrtec.  Keep the windows shut during pollen season. Wash sheets more often.

The general result: I get sick less often, and in my 50s now, I usually only have 2-3 bad weeks in the Spring and another 2-3 bad weeks in September during ragweed season.

And I stop moving when the symptoms start for the most part, so that I can rest and fight off the much worse secondary things like tinnitis, sinusitis, and bronchitis before they ever take hold.  (This is something I did not do this past week.  I kept pushing through.  And I paid for it over the weekend and Monday.)

Occasionally over the last 25 years, I’ve had to resort to a prednisone pac to help kick the body into the right fight with the allergens.  This is one of those times.  I don’t sleep.  I’m hungry all the time.  And I hate the way the steroids make me feel, but they work, and I get over the allergies faster and can function better.  So we do what we must.

Leave a Reply

