Capitol Day

On Ash Wednesday, I did the good work of arts advocacy as I met with a dozen different state legislators in Jefferson City as part of the Missouri Citizens for the Arts Day at the Capitol.

Rather than drive, I took the bus provided by the Regional Arts Commission, and thus spent 12 hours in the company of 45 other intrepid advocates from around the Saint Louis area.  We represented a dozen different arts organizations! 

   
I asked to be finished with my visits by 2 p.m. so I could attend the Missouri Arts Council awards. One of the honorees was my mentor and friend John Schaefer, Canon Musician at Grace & Holy Trinity Cathedral, Kansas City.  He received the 2016 Individual Excellence in the Arts award for his tireless volunteering, presenting, and advocacy for so many KCMO arts groups. 

   
Snow did not deter us, and I had a splendid but very tiring day in the Capitol. (And I am reminded once again of just how beautiful our state Capitol is.)

    
 

Leave a Reply

