A weekend

Fall Break has commenced.  I celebrated on Friday evening by seeing DOGFIGHT at Stray Dog Theatre; by going to Soulard Market on Saturday morning; by teaching three hours of voice lessons that afternoon; and by catching New Line Theatre’s HEATHERS again on Saturday evening.

The house is closed up, and the heat is on. This is after I spent an ungodly amount on a furnace repair on Thursday.

At least one group of critters seems pleased that this little house no longer has a dog: the squirrels are partying in the back yard in a way I’ve never seen here.  They must know that danger is no longer lurking a bark away.

And I’ve started looking at dogs again.  I doubt I’ll have a new furball before Christmas, but one never knows.

Fall Break includes a couple of days of work, plus a couple of days in Lee’s Summit, and Amtrak trips both directions.  I have, as usual, packed a pile of things from the office, but curriculum matters are foremost on my agenda this week.

After a few days of eating on the chili I made on Wednesday, last evening’s freshmade, home-cooked dinner was chicken with lemon-caper sauce, and a medley of green and yellow beans and new potatoes with butter and black pepper.  Dinner was divinely yummy!

image

Leave a Reply

