Home

The men and women of Downton Abbey.

I arrived home from Chicago last evening around 9.30 p.m., and I promptly decided not to unpack, but rather to watch the opening salvo of Downtown Abbey II on PBS.  I am SO glad to see these characters again.  And Maggie Smith gets the BEST lines!

Today was back-to-the-office time, including a tour of the new academic building at Webster.  Save for that one day last week, I’d been away from the office for 2.5 weeks.  I was ready to return, but the mound of ‘must do’ seems to grow daily right now.

I’m teaching a new class this term, which means all sort of prep work now, and then for each class session.  I must pick music this week for each of my voice students.  We have the Cornell Glee Club on campus for a Wednesday evening concert.  And I seem to be inundated with meetings this week.  And our full-time faculty are meeting for a long-term planning session on Friday afternoon.  Such is the life during the week before school begins.

Now for some composing time this evening……